Blue Mountain Region Trails

Horseback riding trail

Blue Mountain area local, regional, state, and federal stakeholder entities were awarded technical expertise and management support through the National Park Service - Rivers, Trails and Conservation Assistance (NPS-RTCA)  program for the development of a regionwide non-motorized trail and transportation plan. The team for the Blue Mountain Region Trails Plan consists of:


City of College Place, WA – Jon Rickard, Planning Director, 509-394-8524
City of Dayton, WA – (please refer to Columbia County)
City of Milton-Freewater, OR – Laurel Sweeney, City Planner, 541-938-8234
City of Prescott, WA – Steve Heimbigner, Mayor
Town of Starbuck, WA – La Donna Brabant, Council Member
City of Waitsburg, WA – Randy Hinchliffe, City Administrator, 509-337-6371

City of Walla Walla, WA – Elizabeth Chamberlain, Development Services Director, 509-524-4710


Columbia County, WA – Meagan Bailey, Planning Director, 509-382-4676
Umatilla County, OR – Bob Waldher, Land Use Planning Director, 541-278-6251
Walla Walla County, WA – Tom Glover, Community Development Director, 509-524-2610
Partnership for a Greater Burbank – Ethan Janke
Columbia County Health Department – Martha Lanman, Administrator, 509-382-2181
Umatilla County Health Department – Robert Rankin, 541-278-5432

Walla Walla County Department of Community Health – Meghan DeBolt, Dept. of Community Health Director, 509-524-2650


Port of Columbia, WA – Jennie Dickinson, Manager, 509-382-2577
Port of Umatilla, OR – Kim Puzey, Executive Director, 541-922-3224

Port of Walla Walla, WA – Pat Reay, Executive Director, 509-525-3100


Community Council – Mary Campbell, Executive Director, 509-540-6720
Palouse Regional Transportation Planning Organization – Shaun Darveshi, Transportation Planning Director, 509-339-7100

Walla Walla Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization/Sub-Regional Transportation Planning Organization – Andrea Weckmueller-Behringer, Executive Director, 509-876-8002


Oregon Department of Transportation – Teresa Penninger, Program/Planning Manager, 541-963-1344
Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife – Kari Dingman, Assistant Wildlife Area Manager, 509-843-1530
Washington Parks and Recreation Commission – Audra Sims, Blue Mountain Area Manager, 509-337-6457

Washington State Department of Transportation – Paul Gonseth, Planning Engineer, 509-577-1630


National Park Service - Rivers, Trails, and Conservation Assistance – Dan Miller, NPS – RTCA Project Manager, 360-816-6232 or 509-281-1100
National Park Service - Whitman Mission National Historic Site – Timothy Nitz, Superintendent, 509-522-6360
US Army Corps of Engineers – Chris Alford, Recreation Specialist, 509-527-7133
US Department of Agriculture - Forest Service – Larry Randall, Recreation Program Manager, 509-522-6276

US Fish and Wildlife Service – Denise McInturff, Visitor Services, 509-546-8332


Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation – J. D. Tovey, Planning Director, 541-276-3099

Private/Business Interests

Bluewood Ski Resort – Kim Clark, General Manager, 509-382-4725

Waitsburg Commercial Club – Joy Smith, President, 509-539-8773

Rural walking

Partner Agencies

Tour of Walla Walla cyclists